Information about Collecting Support
Under Ohio Law, a husband and wife are equally charged with providing for their children’s care, welfare, and education. The obligation of both parents to support their children normally continues until each child turns 18 or as long as the child attends high school on a full-time basis until the child reach the age of 19. To help courts and parents decide how much support a child needs, the Ohio General Assembly has established the Ohio Child Support Guidelines. Ohio courts use these guidelines, along with other factors spelled out in state law, to help establish or modify child support. Once a support order is made, the case is open for collection. Child support cases remain open until the children are emancipated and arrearages that may have accrued are paid.
· Intercept a federal and state tax refund
· Attach a lump sum payment due to be paid
· Suspend driver’s license (including commercial license), professional license, or recreational license
· Seize a financial account
· Place a lien on real or personal property
· Report delinquency to a credit bureau
· Publish a delinquent parent’s name and picture on a “Wanted” poster
· Notify the United States Department not to issue or renew a passport.
The Family Court has the power to find a parent who does not obey its order to pay support in contempt of court upon motion filed by a party. Under Ohio Revised Code §2705.05 the penalties are:
· A fine of up to $250 and a jail sentence of up to 30 days for a first offense
· A fine of up to $500 and a jail sentence of up to 60 days for a second offense
· A fine of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days for a third or subsequent offense.
Henry County Family Court